Golden Awards

In 2016, the Institute of Asphalt Technology celebrated its Golden Anniversary. To mark the event, the IAT Council approved an initiative to award annual financial prizes for the best pavement engineering related dissertations by final year students and taught graduates at colleges and universities in the UK and Ireland. The initiative endorses our primary aim to foster and disseminate knowledge across all elements of our industry and to promote improvements in the practice and standards of asphalt related technology.

The IAT has 9 regional branches in the UK and Republic of Ireland. The prizes to be awarded are:

The IAT Golden Branch Award
9 prizes, awarded by each IAT branch, value £500/Euro equivalent

The IAT Golden Presidential Award
1 overall prize, awarded by IAT Council, value £1000/Euro equivalent

The IAT Golden Branch Award

Each academic year, colleges and universities within the catchment areas of our 9 branches will be invited to nominate a dissertation from their final year students and taught graduates for consideration for this award. The awards are open to degree candidates studying for BEng., BE, BSc., MEng., ME or equivalent. The awards are not open to Master or Doctorate dissertations that are undertaken by research. The scope of the dissertation should deal with Pavement Engineering including, but not limited to, construction methods, materials, surfacing techniques, pavement construction, pavement maintenance, test methods, pavement design and analysis, social/environmental considerations.

Following the selection of the best dissertation by each college or university, the selected participant will be required to download their dissertation and a PowerPoint summary to the IAT website. An IAT adjudication panel of 3 persons, representing the local branch and the IAT Council will then select the best paper from those nominated by the colleges and universities in each branch catchment. The writer of the winning dissertation from each branch catchment will receive a prize of £500/Euro equivalent and will be presented with an IAT Golden Branch Award. As the IAT has 9 regional branches, we hope there will be 9 IAT Golden Branch Award winners each year.

The IAT Golden Presidential Award

The winners of the IAT Golden Branch Awards will then compete for The IAT Golden Presidential Award. The selection of the prize winner for this award will be carried out by a panel of 3 persons from the IAT Council and their decision will be final. The value of this prize is £1000/Euro equivalent.

The winner of the Golden Presidential Award will be invited to attend IAT Conference and will be presented with the Golden Presidential Award trophy.

The award winners may be invited to make presentations to branch technical meetings, IAT Conference and to publish their work in the Asphalt Professional Journal and the IAT Yearbook.